Mae Hong Son, Thailand

Mae Hong Son, a northern region province of Thailand, which borders to Burma or Myanmar. It is 924 Kms. far from Bangkok, and the province area covers all together 12,681.259 square kilometers. This is third largest in Northern Thailand and seventh largest in the country. It has been divided into 7 districts as follows: Mae Hong Son Muang district, Pai district, Pang Mapha district, Khun Yuam district, Mae La Noi district, Mae Sariang district, and Sop Moei district. The province has been bordered by Myanmar’s frontier in the North and the West, Tak province in the South, and Chiang Mai province in the East. Every district in Mae Hong Son Province shares a common border with the Union of Myanmar approximately 483 kilometers in total length.

Most of Mae Hong Son’s landscape is surrounded by many high complicated mountain ranges, variety of forests, and covered by mist all year round. All these reasons bring it to be called “City of Three Mist”. Due to the nature’s charm and beauty together with the large magnificent cave, hot spring, both small and big streams, these all seem to be the important factors to bring Mae Hong Son to become the biggest center of conservative traveling style in Thailand. It affords the various cultural city’s atmosphere, the mixed life styles, the outstanding unique of Shan, and various other hill tribe villages such as Karen, Hmong, Lahu, Lisu, Pa-O and Lawa. Each tribe has its own beautiful art of tradition and culture, own life style including the pure wonderful nature that make Mae Hong Son be “The City of Dreams”. It can attract a lot of tourists to come and visit for once in their lives time.

Scroll to Top